Ottawa Half Marathon “Training” Week 4

After more than a week of being sick, and many missed workouts, last week marked my return to healthy living and regularly scheduled running. I still felt a little under the weather as the week started and eased my way back into training. By the end of the week, I finally felt like myself again and knew that I had kicked that nasty virus; just in time for my weekend getaway to Boston.

Monday: Rest

I woke up and felt like I got kicked in the head and went back to sleep thinking maybe I would run after work. Yeah right. Needless to say that did not happen.

Tuesday: 4 miles

I woke up Tuesday morning and felt the same as Monday. I went back to sleep and spent much of the day feeling very disappointed in myself. By the end of the day, I was feeling better and surprisingly had enough energy for a short run. I decided to run to my friend Dara’s apartment to motivate myself out the door and because I really missed her and her little humans.

I rarely see a reservoir sunset. It's equally amazing!

I rarely see a reservoir sunset. It’s just as beautiful as the sunrise!

I’m so happy I decided to run. After being sick for a week, I had no expectations and set out for an easy four miles. This run was awesome and completely unexpected.

That last mile was probably the fastest I've run since November. It took my several block to catch my breath!

That last mile was probably the fastest I’ve run since November. It took several blocks to catch my breath!

Wednesday: 5 miles

FINALLY! I finally woke up and didn’t feel exhausted. I finally woke up and didn’t feel like going back to sleep. I finally woke up and ran before work. And it was glorious. I don’t know about you, but I always feel so grateful to see the sunrise.

Back to sunrise runs!

Back to sunrise runs! Be still my heart, Central Park!

Thursday: Refine Method

After canceling both classes the week before, and one more last Monday, it felt great to get back to lifting heavy things. Although I was a bit winded during the power portions of the class (jumping, squating, basically doing all the things that make your heart rate spike), I felt great during the class and so happy to be back to strength training. Stronger muscles, stronger runner, right?

Friday: Rest

I contemplated doing yoga or going for a short run because I took a rest day on Monday. I heard the rain pouring against my windows and decided to keep my regular Friday rest day and get an extra hour of sleep. I knew I had a busy weekend ahead of me. I definitely made the right choice.

Saturday: 6 miles

This was run fueled by wine, too many salads, too much cheese, and too late of a bedtime. You do the math and imagine how this run started. But it was absolutely worth it.

Friday night, I spent with Abby, Ashley, Jess and Liz. Saturday morning Ashley and I were heading to Boston to visit Allison and, ironically, all of our friends that live in Boston were headed to New York for the weekend. Luckily, we were all in New York on Friday night and made the most of our time together; a lot of laughing, a lot of cheese, and a lot of wine. I promised myself I would be home by 10pm because I knew I had to run super early on Saturday morning before our 10am train to Boston. This obviously did not happen.

Sunday: Rest

Ashley and I decided not to run and rather to enjoy a lazy Sunday morning before spending the day with Allison. We didn’t even pack running clothes or running shoes. We woke up without an alarm, went for a walk to get coffee, relaxed, and took our time getting ready before meeting Allison. This was the best decision ever.

We miss you so much, Allison! Please move back to NYC, thank you!

We miss you so much, Allison! Please move back to NYC, thank you!

Weekly mileage=15 miles

This training cycle is going pretty well; minus the one week hiatus thanks to that awful virus. I feel like I’ve been making progress in my mission to get stronger. In fact, I have officially graduated from the 6kg kettlebells at Refine Method. I’m finally strong enough to lift heavier weights. I also decided it’s time to stop being scared and asked Coach to give me a training plan for the next seven weeks until the Ottawa Half Marathon. I’m excited to move on from all easy runs, try a few speed workouts again, and push myself a little bit. As always, I will listen to my body. When it says push, I will push. And when it says pull back, I will pull back. I think I have finally figured out what I want from this training cycle (spoiler alert=it’s not going to be a PR). I want to get my body ready to train for a fall marathon. I’m finally starting to believe it might actually be possible. For the first time in over a year, I’m finally more excited than nervous. I can’t to see what 2015 running has in store for me.

Tell Me.

When do you decide which fall race you are going to run?

How far in advance do you sign up for a marathon? Do you prefer months in advance or closer to race day?

Favorite fall marathon?

My running playlist needs to be updated. Favorite new running song?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Ottawa Half Marathon “Training” Week 4

  1. Buddy, I am so proud of you for pushing through. I love that you take the bad days in stride and celebrate the good ones. Running and life are like that, huh? I know you’re ready to push a little harder and listen to whatever Abby gives you. #CoachIsCrazy. I can’t wait to see how the rest of your training unfolds!

  2. I follow your blog and enjoy reading about your training, challenges and victories! I am also going to Ottawa to run the half marathon! My family lives in Ontario – so I have long wanted to run Ottawa race weekend. I live in Maryland. This year I finally signed up and booked my airfare for the weekend. This will be my 6th half marathon. I began running in 2011. It would be fun to meet you! I just started my half training again after sustaining a serious back injury at Christmas after falling from my horse. I am looking forward to the next 8 weeks of getting my body back to strong and feeling grateful and STRONG crossing the finish line in Ottawa. Good luck in your training – I’ll follow you here!

    • That’s so exciting! It would fun to meet in Ottawa! Wow! That’s a scary injury. Happy to hear you are back at it again. That’s the best feeling after injury. Best of luck with the rest of your training and hope we get to meet in Ottawa.

  3. Great work and I LOVE That picture of you and the girls! Randomest song that I want to add to my playlist: Best of You by the Foo Fighters. I don’t listen to them much these days but my goodness it’s a pump up song!!!

Share your thoughts

