On Being Thankful and Tradition

Thanksgiving is about tradition and being thankful. Often times, life gets busy and hectic and stressful and we forget and lose focus of what we are thankful for. Thanksgiving is a great reminder to take a few minutes to think about all that you have to be thankful for in life. I’ll start!

This year I have so much to be thankful for….

I’m thankful for a healed wing and a body that is healthy enough to run 13.1 miles again.

After a long year, it feels amazing to end 2014 with a WIN!

After a long year, it feels amazing to end 2014 with a WIN!

I’m thankful for every day I am healthy enough to wake up and run and watch the sunrise.

This view never gets old. It's beautiful every single morning.

This view never gets old. It’s beautiful every single morning.

I’m thankful for breathtaking sunsets that make you pause in life; if only for a moment.

How can you not feel thankful for this?

How can you not feel thankful for this?

I’m thankful for thoughtful, supportive, encouraging friends.

This is the most of them I could find in one picture! There are even more; I'm a very lucky girl!

Thankful for incredible friends! And drunk brunch.

I’m thankful for the oldest friends in my life who are like family.

Thankful for old friends and photobombing new friends.

Thankful for old friends and photobombing new friends.

I’m thankful for more internet friends who have become real life friends this year.

What!?! You didn't meet all of your friends on Twitter?

What!?! You didn’t meet all of your friends on Twitter? Also, I miss being this tan.

Although this will be the first Thanksgiving without my Grandma, I’m thankful I had in her my life for as long as I did. The picture of strength and courage, she taught this family so much. For that, I will always be thankful.

I will always love you, Granny!

How cute was she?

I’m thankful for my other Grandmother who also makes my life so much better. I cherish her friendship and weekly Sunday phone calls.

Obviously not current, but beautiful nonetheless!

Obviously not current, but beautiful nonetheless!

Finally, I’m incredibly thankful for a family that always supports me. Always believes in me. Always teaches me to have a positive outlook and a good attitude (even though sometimes I could use a reminder). And always loves me unconditionally.

Also not current but one of my favorite family photos from pharmacy school graduation!

Also not current but one of my favorite family photos from pharmacy school graduation!

A few years ago, my Thanksgiving traditions were changing. It was the first year I wouldn’t watch the parade in my pajamas with a cup of coffee at my parent’s house. The first year I wouldn’t start cooking a Thanksgiving feast once the parade was over. The first year everything would be different. My Dad has taught me that change can turn out to be one of the greatest gifts but it’s hard to manage at first glance. That’s when I decided it was time to create new traditions. Being thankful for all that running had brought into my life, incredible new friends, life outside of my comfort zone, and the ability to embrace new experiences, RxBethOnTheRun’s 1st Annual Central Park Turkey Trot was born. I couldn’t have imagined it would bring even more incredible friends into my life but it did. Friends who have since become a huge part of my life. Friends I am thankful for every single day.

Inaugural Central Park 5K Turkey Trot

Inaugural Central Park 5K Turkey Trot

Last year, the new tradition continued. There were bibs. And medals. And more friends.

2nd Annual Central Park 5K Turkey Trot

2nd Annual Central Park 5K Turkey Trot

So, in keeping with tradition, join me and celebrate my favorite holiday at RxBethOnTheRun’s 3rd Annual Central Park Turkey Trot.

WHAT: RxBethOnTheRun’s 3rd Annual Central Park 5K Turkey Trot
WHEN: Thursday, November 27, 2014
WHERE: Central Park
TIME: 8AM
DETAILS: Meet at the West Side of the 72nd Street Transverse

All paces and friends welcome.

Wishing you all a VERY Happy Thanksgiving and a great start of the most wonderful time of the year!

Tell Me.

What are you most thankful for this year?

2 thoughts on “On Being Thankful and Tradition

  1. Loved this! The Turkey Trot sounds awesome. I’m nursing an injury now, and I totally hear you on being thankful you can run. It’s definitely something to appreciate. New traditions FTW

  2. Pingback: Holiday Happenings - KH Nutrition

Share your thoughts

