12 Weeks Later…

12 Weeks Later…

SHE RAN. Twice.

First run in 3 months must be documented!

First run in three months must be documented!

12 weeks ago, I fell and broke my humerus in three places.

Broken wing in 3 places.

Broken wing in three places.

12 weeks later…my bone has healed and the broken wing is recovering well.

Healed Wing. No more cracks.

Healed Wing. No more cracks.

12 weeks later…I FINALLY ran outside again. I ran three glorious miles with Kim, Allison and Tina on Saturday. It felt harder than the marathon I ran six months ago and absolutely amazing all at the same time. My lungs burned after one mile and there were definitely a few walk breaks but I was grateful just to lace up my New Balance and be running in Central Park once again. I ran three miles again tonight with Allison. I think it felt even harder. I may already be sore. Who cares!?! I’M RUNNING.

Running buddies make everything better!

Running buddies make everything better!

12 weeks later…I was finally brave enough to take the subway to work. I’ve taken in it every day this week.

So much has changed over the past 12 weeks…

I no longer have to wear the sling. Thank goodness.

My range of motion improves every week.

I started “lifting weights” at physical therapy last week. Wednesday I used one and two-pound weights. Thursday, I used three-pound weights. I even did 15 “push-ups” against the wall and they hurt like hell. Watch out Refine Method, I’m coming for you. In reality, it will likely be another three months before I’m cleared for Refine Method…but then I’m coming for you!

I’m still not allowed to drive a car; not such a big deal living in NYC. However, I can finally put the seat belt across my chest again.

I can put my own hair in a ponytail; which has also gotten easier and less painful in the past two weeks. I still need help to blow dry my hair though. Thankfully there’s this wonderful place called Blo Blow Dry Bar that will make you feel beautiful for a mere forty dollars.

The most human I had felt in weeks!

The most human I had felt in weeks!

I’ve started cooking and cleaning a little more but can’t lift anything heavy. My physical therapist told me not to go lifting a cast iron skillet or anything. Okay. Not a problem.

This is a long road to recovery, and I still have a long way to go, but I’m celebrating all of the little victories and the amount of progress I’ve made so far. Three months ago I couldn’t shower or dress myself and now I’m RUNNING again! It will likely be another three months before I can spin or go to Refine Method but I will continue to focus on the things I can do and not the things I can’t. Like finally being back in my beloved Central Park.

Reunited and it feels so good!

Reunited and it feels so good!

I’m beyond excited to see all of my friends in Central Park again!!!!!

Tell Me.

Have you ever had an injury that sidelined you for three months?

How long does it take for your lungs to stop burning after you start running again?

Any suggestions for some realistic, little goals I can set for myself now that I can run again?

 

6 thoughts on “12 Weeks Later…

  1. Congratulations, running buddy!!! You are BACK! I’m so happy for you and know it’ll be a slow tough road at first, but you’ll get there! ❤️you!

  2. It’s definitely a great idea to think of some little goals to look forward to. This is what will make learning to run all over again exciting. Set some goals for each month and it will make the time fly by and before you know it, you will be marathon training again. 🙂

    So, so glad you are back! I know you have a long way to go, but you’ve made so much freaking progress and I’m so proud of you. You are positive, strong, and I’m so happy to have you as a friend. Sorry for missing out on your first run back, I was so sad 😦 Please, please let’s run together soon!!! Gary’s full of shit 😉

  3. I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!!!!!!!!! I cannot even imagine all the emotions you have gone through the last 3 months, yet you come across so cool, calm and collected!! I am so happy you are doing what you love again!!

Share your thoughts

