My Year of Running 2013

I’ll admit, I’m more than fashionably late to the My Year of Running party. I actually did join in on Miss Zippy’s year of running last year but never got around to posting it. Many of my favorite runners have joined in on the fun and now I’m ready to finally join the party!

source

After a less than stellar 2012, I made it my mission to dream BIG in 2013. I made a promise to make it count.

This is me, excited for 2013!

This is me, EXCITED for 2013!

To dream bigger. To go after what I wanted. To believe in myself and what I was capable of just a little bit more.

DREAM BIG!

DREAM BIG!

As I sit here, reflecting on my year of running, I can’t help but feel extremely grateful. Let’s recap, shall we…..

  • Best race experience?

Hands down. Without question. The New York City Marathon. This was my first marathon and a complete dream come true. More than six weeks later and it still feels like a dream. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done and 100% one of the best days of my life.

A dream come true!

A dream come true!

  • Best run?

The day I ran 22 miles. It was after having a muscle spasm and missing a long run while training for the marathon. I was cleared by my physical therapist to go for it. I had no expectations. I wasn’t nervous. I didn’t over think it. I just ran. It was definitely the best run of the year.

22 MILES!

All smiles post-22 MILES!

  • Best new piece of gear?  

My Oiselle Team singlet. It is such a huge honor to run for such an incredible company and have such inspirational teammates to inspire, motivate and push me to be my best self every day. Plus, I’m pretty sure that the team singlet has magical, PR powers.

First race as a runner for Oiselle Team!

First race as a runner for Oiselle Team! With the BEST.COACH.EVER.

  • Best piece of running advice you received?

The best running advice I’ve ever been given was from my brother. I was stressing over a run last year and he reminded me that my sponsors weren’t going to drop me if I had a bad run or race. At the end of the day, he reminded me that this was supposed to be fun. He reminded me to stop taking myself so seriously and enjoy everything about running and racing. It’s never going to pay the bills. At least for me, anyway.

The BEST brother a girl could ask for!

The BEST brother a girl could ask for!

  • Most inspirational runner?

This one is SO TOUGH to answer. It’s so hard for me to choose just one runner that inspires me. My Oiselle teammates inspire me all the time. Abby and Stephanie inspire me to be strong, to run fast, to give more than I think I can give and to believe in myself. But this year, I would have to say the most inspirational runner is Kara. She became an Ironman this summer. As if that wasn’t an outstanding enough of an accomplishment for 2013, she PR’d at the New York City Marathon by 44 minutes. She’s humble. She’s extremely thoughtful. She’s one of the most supportive, encouraging and kind-hearted people I know and she’s incredibly inspirational.

Mile 21. Still so happy!

Mile 21. Still so happy!

  • If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be?

Anything is possible! Never, in a million years, did I think I would run ONE marathon let alone be considering running another one. You are never too old to dream just a little bit bigger.

2014 New York City Marathon, here I come??

2014 New York City Marathon, here I come??

As of last Saturday, I have officially run 1000+ miles in 2013! The first time I’ve run more than 1000 miles in a year must be documented.

I’m extremely hopeful and excited to see what’s possible in 2014!

8 thoughts on “My Year of Running 2013

  1. Loved reading this Beth! Kara is a pretty amazing runner but so are you! Good luck for ING NYC 2014. I know it will be amazing for you.

  2. So glad you had such a stellar year! And that you enjoyed your marathon so much. I’d say 2014 can only mean big things for you! Thanks for linking up.

  3. You have had such an amazing year, Beth! 1000 miles and a MARATHON and beating PRs like a mad woman. You are such an inspiration as a friend and fellow runner 🙂

  4. Beth I seriously just love you! I just commented on Steph’s blog that I agreed that YOU were my most inspiring runner. Thanks for always being so motivational!! And kind. Congrats on an absolutely stellar year at life and running. You definitely made it count and accomplished lots of great things! Hurry up November so you can CRUSH NYC again!!! 🙂

    • KELSEY! You are the most incredibly kind and thoughtful person. And YOU are the one who inspires and motivates ME. All. The. Time. I can’t wait until we finally get to meet each other. I know I will just adore you. We need to make it happen. Keep being amazing, girl! You’re one of my favorites. Hands down.

    • I did not mean to write my name twice up there, and I also want to say that you inspired me to even be able to run the NYC Marathon and not defer…because of you I always kept going!

Share your thoughts

