With 5 Days to Go…..

With five days to go until I run my first marathon, I am full of emotion. Any little thing related to the New York City Marathon brings me to tears. Good tears. Happy tears. Excited tears. I have so many things running through my mind. Things that make it difficult to concentrate on anything but the marathon. I can picture it. I can picture myself running this race. I can picture myself crossing the finish line. I can’t quite picture the pain; although I know it’s coming. This may be delusional. This may be naïve. Or this just may be me finally believing in myself. Trust yourself. Trust your training. Right?

One of my favorite quotes!

One of my favorite quotes!

I’m grateful for my friends, family, coach and dietitian. I hate referring to them as my coach and dietitian because, above all, they are some of the most incredible friends and I am lucky to have them in my life. I can’t begin to tell everyone how grateful I am for their unwavering support, encouragement, love and ability to deal with my crazy. I can’t find the right words. I’ve tried. It overwhelms me. Thank you just doesn’t seem right. It doesn’t seem good enough. I could never have survived the last 18 weeks without them. They are my heart and soul. They are the reason (and perhaps some of my hard work) that I am running this marathon on Sunday. I can’t wait to see their faces on that race course. It’s what will push me when things start to hurt.

I am already proud of myself. Anything can happen on race day; especially when you are running 26.2 miles for the first time. You have to be proud of all that you’ve already accomplished. All of the things you’ve done that got you to race day. The courage you had to do something that scared the “you know what” out of you.

“You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you stop to look fear in the face.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

The sacrifices you made to get in all the miles. The determination you had when things got tough. The interminable will to work HARD for what you want. The trust, even though there were bumps in the road, that you are ready for this day. And maybe most importantly, the faith and belief in yourself that gets you to the start line thinking, I CAN DO THIS! I CAN RUN A MARATHON!

On November 3rd, I will do something I've never done!

Thanks to Nike for this picture.

I can’t believe 18 weeks have come and gone. Heat. Humidity. Exhaustion. Sacrifices. Setbacks. But at the end of the day, it will all be worth it to cross that famous NYC Marathon finish line.

2012 NYC Marathon Finish LIne

Okay, this is from last year, but I’m sure it looks the same!

I can’t believe it’s almost race day. I can’t believe it’s almost Marathon Sunday; the best day of the year to live in New York City. When the city stops to cheer on 50, 000 runners.

“If you are losing faith in human nature, go out and watch a marathon”– Kathrine Switzer

Can I do this? Sure, I’ve run 22 miles but does that mean I can run 26.2? Well, I sure hope so. If there is one thing people will tell you about me, it’s that I’m stubborn determined. And that is what will get me across that finish line on Sunday. My sheer will to fight for what I really want.

KaraGoucherQuotePicture
I’ve thought about the NYC Marathon, in some way, for the past 10 years. I never thought I could run a marathon. Me? The overweight high school cheerleader who ran the physical fitness test mile in 15+ minutes? I’ve cheered for the NYC Marathon, on First Avenue, for as long as I can remember. I never could’ve dreamed that I would be on the other side; the city cheering for me. It’s a pretty amazing feeling.

I’m not nervous yet. I’m actually nervous that I’m not nervous. It doesn’t feel real to me. It doesn’t feel like reality that I’m running a MARATHON in 5 days. I’m sure after I have my bib in my hand on Friday it will feel real. And then I’m confident I’ll be a bundle of nerves.

I know it will probably be one of the hardest things I will ever do in my life. I know there will be times when it will hurt and I will question myself.

burninmylegsquote

I know I will probably cry at the finish line. I’m confident I will cry at the start line; listening to Frank Sinatra. And I’m pretty sure I will cry the minute I see my friends and family after the finish. I can’t wait.

I AM BEYOND EXCITED AND READY TO RUN THROUGH THE CITY I LOVE!

5 DAYS TO GO!!!!!

Tell Me.

Are you are coming out to cheer on Sunday? Let me know where you’ll be! The more support and friendly faces along the way the better.

6 thoughts on “With 5 Days to Go…..

  1. I definitely agree with the “trust yourself, trust your training” school of thought. The first marathon is a big mess of physical challenge and emotions, but you’ve done the work to be ready for it, so don’t take a single step for granted. I am also running NYC and, even though it will be my fifth full, I have no doubt that I will cry at the finish (and most likely at multiple points along the course). Best of luck to you on Sunday!
    P.S. I have the same blog layout! Love coming across others that use the template.

  2. YESS!! WOOHOO! Sunday is YOUR DAY. You put in all the training…all the hours…all the sweat…that was the hard part. This is the fun part. 26.2 miles in celebration of your strength and courage. I can’t wait to congratulate you! Keep staying postivie – that’s the best thing you can do at this point!

  3. I just wanted to post a comment to say GOOD LUCK on Sunday! I’ve been following your journey and really hope you have a great race! I am running also, it will be my second marathon but my first NYC and the first one where I’ve gotten through the training healthy. I am SO EXCITED and so thankful and I find myself nodding a lot when I read your posts. I wanted to share one inspirational line that my SIL wrote to me this week:

    Remember, all that you need is already inside.

  4. Pingback: I Ran My First Marathon: 2013 New York City Marathon Recap | Once in a Mile

Share your thoughts

