Training for My First Marathon: Week 7

This week of training was a learning experience. I learned that what is possible in week 2 of marathon training is very different from what the body is capable of and what you can accomplish in week 7. That’s true for both ends of the spectrum. During week 2, I was able to take a Refine Method class in the morning and a Flywheel class in the evening; on the same day. Sure it was hard, but completely doable. Fast forward to week 7 and my legs were literally begging for mercy half way through Flywheel. On the other hand, if you had told me five weeks ago that I was capable of running one, let alone two, 16 mile runs I’d think you were crazy. Yet now, at the end of week 7, I’ve DONE two 16 mile runs and I’m feeling absolutely great. Tired? Perhaps. But great, nonetheless. So how did it go, you ask?

Week 7

Monday: Yoga AM + Refine Method PM

Sadly, this was my last class with Liz before she left me and moved to Cambridge to study some business-y things. Luckily, it was Kim’s first class. Hint, hint Kim. I’m down a Refine buddy.

Tuesday: 5 miles speedwork

This was, in a word, AWESOME! I ran all of the intervals much too fast except for the one interval I ran too slowly. Oops! I find it very hard to settle into a pace when I only have a short interval to run. But, let’s just say, there were SEVENS in the front of some of them. SEVENS!

Wednesday: Refine Method AM + Flywheel PM

The things I’m willing to do for runner happy hour. I normally do strength training on Thursday evenings but thanks to runner happy hour I had to squeeze it in today. Ouch! Lesson learned. See above.

Thursday: 5 easy miles

My Coach planned for me to do some strides but my legs were beyond dead from Wednesday’s workouts. I attempted the first stride and my legs wouldn’t have it. They were all, nope, we’re not doing this today. Rather than chance injuring myself, I made the decision for all easy miles. Have I mentioned how much I LOVE easy runs? I rocked out to some music and enjoyed my morning run in Central Park. It was a breezy, beautiful morning and I couldn’t have asked for a better way to start the day.

Friday: Rest day

Thank goodness. My legs were screaming for a rest day. I took the day off from work and spent the day with a great friend lounging by the pool. It was just what I needed.

The BEST way to end hot, sweaty summer runs!

The BEST way to prepare for a long run! That’s Nuun, don’t worry!

Saturday: 16 miles

Running 16 miles solo was not as easy as I thought it would be. Or perhaps I’ve become too dependent on running with friends? Before this year, I only ran solo and I preferred it that way. Trust me, there are many days I still prefer a nice mind clearing, lost in my thoughts kind of run, but this weekend was much tougher than I expected. The last time I ran 16 miles, I finished feeling like I could keep going and pretty much on top of the world. This week, I had a good run but finished feeling like HOW am I going to run 10.2 more miles. Training is funny like that, isn’t it?

Sunday: 3 recovery miles with MY BROTHER

Just me, the Bro and the open roads!

Just me, the Bro and the open roads!

I could definitely get used to these Sunday runs with the Bro! After the run, I grabbed some iced coffee (hello, obviously), shoved an English muffin with peanut butter and jelly down my throat (so the RD wouldn’t kill me for not eating post-run), raced to get pretty and was off to celebrate my cousin’s wedding.

Shameless selfie waiting for the ceremony to start!

Shameless selfie waiting for the ceremony to start!

I love weddings. I danced the afternoon away. Seeing my grandmother on the dance floor, with the biggest smile I’ve seen on her face in 20 years, was priceless and completely made my day.

HOW happy does she look? Love that little lady.

HOW happy does she look? I seriously love that little lady.

I couldn’t have asked for a better weekend. I’m happiest spending time with family and this weekend was absolutely amazing! My legs were completely dead by the end of the weekend but it was totally worth it. I came home after the wedding, put on my compression socks and was in bed by 9:30pm.

Total mileage: 29 miles

I need to say thank you to my dear, sweet friend. Who’s an IRONMAN, by the way! She text me on Friday and her words brought me to tears (not like that’s so hard these days). It was the most encouraging, supportive, incredible text reminding me that I CAN DO THIS! She always believes in me. Kara, thank you for that text and for being the person and friend that you are. I hope you know how much you and your unwavering support mean to me.

And just like that, 7 weeks of training down, 11 more to go! Just writing that is terrifying and completely exhilarating all at the same time. Next week is my first 18 mile run! Wish me luck! Like my Coach is always reminding me; it’s only 20 minutes more than you’ve already done.

PS. I signed up for all the races today! It’s AWESOME registering for races as a runner for Oiselle Team. I can’t wait for my first race in the Oiselle singlet. I’m so excited!

Oiselle Team Badge

Go Fast. Take Chances.

Tell Me.

Do you like breaking up long runs with races? Please say yes because they’re non-refundable.

Do you run races while training for your goal race or just focus on the big one and do long runs on your own?

Check out my updated Adventures in Racing page for my fall/winter races and let me know if we are running any of the same races.

8 thoughts on “Training for My First Marathon: Week 7

Share your thoughts

