Training for My First Marathon: Week 5

This week was like a dream. To quote Little Orphan Annie, could someone pinch me please? Before we dive in to this week’s training, as if I haven’t mentioned it once or twice gushed over it enough, I’m now a runner for Oiselle Team. I can’t even believe it. I’m honored and thrilled and still smiling from ear to ear.

SUCH an honor!

Now that I’ve mentioned the whole I run for Oiselle Team thing again, let’s jump into how this week’s training went. This week was an easy, cutback week and much appreciated after a few weeks of hard workouts.

Week 5

Monday: Yoga AM

I had to skip PM Refine Method because of severe intestinal cramping. I walked to the studio with the hope that the pain would subside and Katie could sufficiently kick my butt. I was so disappointed when she took one look at me and sent me home. I haven’t taken her class in so long and was so bummed to miss it. Don’t worry, Katie, I’ll be there next Thursday.

Tuesday: 7 easy miles

This was a pre-work PDR for me. I ran the first 5 miles alone, scoring many Central Park high fives. If you know me, you know I’m a big fan of the high five. I met up with Stacy for the last two miles. I really look forward to our easy, fun runs together. She’s great company and makes the miles just fly by.

Wednesday: AM Refine + PM blogger event at Dance Motivation Fitness

I was beyond thrilled to finally get to spend some time with Kim. It’s been far too long. It was a nice surprise to see Megan and Brittany there too.

Thursday: 6 easy miles

More importantly known as the day I was accepted to run for Oiselle Team and got my wings. Time to Go Fast. Take Chances.

Friday: Rest day

Saturday: 10 miles

Well, they say there’s a first time for everything, right? Saturday marked the first time I’ve fallen while running. I blame Queens where Kristin has repeatedly fallen. It hurt, I’m cut up and have some road rash, but, the good news is, it looks like I’m going to make it.

I ran the beast, better known as the Queensboro Bridge, to go meet Steph in Astoria to run one mile with her. Yes. You heard me right. I ran the Queensboro Bridge not only once but twice to meet Steph for her first run back from injury and it was the best mile of my entire day (sorry Meghan, Nicole and Rebececa; I had fun with you guys too). She was so happy to be running and I’m so happy I was there to run it with her.

Decked out in Oiselle, of course!

Decked out in Oiselle, of course!

After leaving Steph, making her promise to walk back to her apartment and not run, I ran the Queensboro Bridge back to Manhattan and made my way over to Summer Streets. I absolutely loved Summer Streets last year and couldn’t wait for them again this year.

Map of all the fun!

Map of all the fun!

What is Summer Streets? *from nyc.gov

Summer Streets is an annual celebration of New York City’s most valuable public space—our streets. On three consecutive Saturdays in the summer, nearly seven miles of NYC’s streets are opened for people to play, walk, bike, and breathe. Summer Streets provides space for healthy recreation and encourages New Yorkers to use more sustainable forms of transportation. In 2012, more than 250,000 people took advantage of the open streets.

Running from 7:00 am to 1:00 pm, Summer Streets extends from the Brooklyn Bridge to Central Park, along Park Avenue and connecting streets, with easy access from all points in New York City, allowing participants to plan a trip as long or short as they wish. All activities at Summer Streets are free of charge, and designed for people of all ages and ability levels to share the streets respectfully.

Running down Park Avenue

Running down Park Avenue

I started running from 59th Street and kept a watchful eye for my runner friends as I knew many would be out there. Right around 42nd Street, I passed Dori and Katherine and waved as I continued on. They invited me to join them going north but I had just come from there and wanted to venture on south.

Right around Union Square, I started looking out for Meghan, Rebecca and Jen. I knew I should be passing them soon if they started at their planned meeting time of 8am at the base of the Brooklyn Bridge. Wouldn’t you know it, seconds after starting to look for them, I spotted them and jumped in; obviously inviting myself to join them. Thanks speedies, you made the last part of my tempo miles seem like a walk, or run, in the park, or Summer Streets. Whatever, you know what I meant, right? I ran with them for just over a mile when Nicole called me to let me know where she was. We planned to try and meet up for a couple of miles, if possible. I found her at 36th Street, said goodbye to my speedy friends; thanking them for letting me crash and set off back down Park Avenue for about a mile with Nicole.

Me and Nicole summer streets

She wore Oiselle for me! I have the BEST friends!

Once we hit Union Square, I said goodbye, wished her a good run and finished my last 1/2 mile, rocking out to my music, on Summer Streets. I can’t wait until next week’s 14 mile run so I can continue my adventure down Summer Streets to the Brooklyn Bridge.

Thanks for the AMAZING picture, Ashley!

Thank you for the AMAZING picture, Ashley!

I spent an impromptu afternoon of shopping and wine with Nicole. I even convinced her that she needed a Oiselle Stripey in poppy; just like me. Twinsies. You should do yourself a favor and go get one too! I love mine.

Stripey!

Stripey!

Sunday: 3.2 recovery miles

*I had to add the extra 0.2 and make my weekly mileage 26.2; you know, for good measure*

I spent the rest of Sunday relaxing poolside, reading the September issue of Runner’s World and enjoying a perfect summer Sunday! It was absolute summer perfection!

A perfect summer Sunday!

A perfect summer Sunday!

Waiting for Metro North to come back to NYC!

Waiting for Metro North to come back to NYC!

Back in the concrete jungle!

Back in the concrete jungle!

Total Mileage: 26.2 miles

This week, I realized that I ran 108 miles in July (my highest monthly mileage ever) and just over 550 miles so far in 2013. There are many, many more to go and I literally can’t wait. I don’t think I’ve ever been this excited during a training cycle; even during the training for my first half marathon.

I’m a runner for Oiselle Team, training for my first marathon and have some of the most incredible friends a girl could ever dream of. Please, someone pinch me! 2013, you’re outstanding so far!

Tell Me.

Do you love summer Sundays?

New Yorkers, did you take advantage of Summer Streets?

How was your long run this weekend?

9 thoughts on “Training for My First Marathon: Week 5

  1. Great job on your training and love that you rounded it up to 26.2. I still have “Is this real? Pinch me!” feeling about the Oiselle team news too. Congrats!

  2. It looks so fun to run in NY! It’s on my bucket list just to visit but to run there to would be over the top for me! One day and maybe we can even run together! 🙂 Great pics and welcome to the team!

  3. My long run SUCKED but I had fun running with Michelle and saw quite a few runner friends, so obviously it couldn’t be all bad 🙂 And I loooove summer Sundays!

  4. Sad I didn’t have a chance summer streets run in with you this time! I’ll be checking it out again this Saturday, maybe I’ll catch ya!!! Glad everything is back on track, and love the 26.2!

Share your thoughts

