Training for My First Marathon: Week 1

Today I finished my first official week of training for the New York City Marathon. So far, it’s just like half marathon training, except for the longer weekday runs (did I mention I already miss 3 and 4 mile runs?) and the fact that my first long run was 10 miles.

Thanks to Nike for another awesome photo!

Thanks to Nike for another awesome photo!

How did it go?

I think I’m starting to adjust to the heat and humidity (the dry heaving has subsided). This week was definitely a test in that department with all four of my runs in 70+ degree temperatures and no less than 94 percent humidity. Yes, you read that correctly. I ran twice this week when the humidity read 98 percent. The air was THICK and that’s basically raining but not.

The BEST way to end hot, sweaty summer runs!

The BEST way to end hot, sticky, sweaty summer runs!

Last summer I had a lot of trouble adjusting to the heat and humidity and subsequent slower paces. It was no secret how much I struggled through the first half of my training. I think last summer’s training helped prepare me for marathon training this summer. With that said, last year, I swore I’d never train for another fall race and here I am, training for a race twice the distance I was training for last summer. Never say never, right?

Besides having to mentally adjust to slower paces (after an outstanding spring training cycle and an almost 5 minute half marathon PR), my runs this week were the absolute best you could hope for in your first week of training for your very first marathon. They were confidence boosting and almost perfectly executed. Shocking, I know, after the past few weeks of running which left me dry heaving and wondering how I would be able to run twice the distances I was struggling through on my last couple of longish runs.

This was the cure for a crappy 8 mile run last week!

This was the cure for a crappy 8 mile run last week!

I have never kept track of my weeks of training, except for what I write in my $1.00 planner from Target, but I thought it might be a fun way to journal training for my first marathon. Plus, I really enjoy reading about how everyone’s training progresses each week.

Week 1

Monday: Morning yoga + evening TRX

Tuesday: 5 miles (tempo)

Wednesday: 6am Flywheel class with Liz (including a fabulous iced coffee date post-spin/pre-work)

Thursday: 6 easy miles (missed my 2nd strength workout this week because of July 4th)

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 10 miles

Sunday: 3 recovery miles

Total Mileage: 24 miles

All in all, I’m extremely happy with the way the first week of training went. I know this is just the beginning but I couldn’t be more excited for this training cycle and the weeks ahead. I’m really looking forward to seeing what my body is capable of; physically and mentally. I’m excited to run distances that I have never run before. I’m excited to push the limits of comfort and challenge myself in new ways. Two weeks from now is my first attempt at 14 miles. Stay tuned…….

Tell Me.

What’s your best advice for someone training for their first marathon?

Did you start training for a fall race yet? How is it going?

How are you dealing with this unrelenting heat and humidity?

4 thoughts on “Training for My First Marathon: Week 1

  1. Yay you’re doing training recaps! I’m such a nerd, I know, but I love reading these, especially when I really care about the training of the person!!

Share your thoughts

