Thankful Things Thursday: A PR Edition

I don’t often write a Thankful Things Thursday post. No real reason. I just don’t. Don’t get me wrong, I am constantly thinking of all I have to be thankful for.

We all know how sappy and sentimental this training cycle and last weekend’s half marathon have made me. This week, especially, I am very aware of all the wonderful things in my life for which I have to be thankful for and I thought I’d share gush about them. In list form, of course!

1. Friends. This past year has brought some of the most incredible friends a girl could ask for into my life. You sort of assume, or at least I did, that once you get to a certain point in your life, you have all the friends in your life that you will ever have. I never thought at this stage of the game that I would form new and such meaningful friendships. I’m thankful for these friendships every day. Every day.

I’m a very lucky girl. I have friends that have known me for what feels like all my life. They are my heart and soul. They’ve seen the good, the bad, the happy, the sad, and even the ugly. You name it, they’ve seen it and they still they love me unconditionally (or at least I think they do).

My heart and soul!

My heart and soul!

So you can imagine how thankful I feel to have made another group of friends this year. Friends who understand me. Support me. Encourage me. Friends who listen to me ramble on and on and obsess and be crazy and who never tell me to stop obsessing, even though I’m certain they want to. Friends who often times believe in me before I can believe in myself.

For all of the amazing friends in my life, old and new, I am extremely thankful. I don’t know what I would do without you. You make my life better. You make ME better.

CherryBlossomBibPickUpPicture

Left to right: Jen, Abby, Steph, Me and Kim

Left to Right: Jocelyn, Jen, Me, Annie, Abby and Kara

Left to Right: Jocelyn, Jen, Me, Annie, Abby and Kara

Left to right: Me, Kristin, Ashley, Fiona

Left to right: Me, Kristin, Ashley, Fiona

Central Park Turkey Trot Finishers

Central Park Turkey Trot Finishers

2. My brother. The never ending support, encouragement and love I feel from this guy is 100% beyond words. I mean, who has a brother that tells you all he wants for his birthday this year is a picture of you with a half marathon medal around your neck because he knows you can do it? A brother who, as often as he can, shows up to a race very early in the morning to cheer you through the finish line and captures that perfect picture of you with a look on your face that says you’ve just done the thing you thought you couldn’t do. A brother who, when you ask if he thinks you can run a marathon, asks “why couldn’t you?” A brother who constantly reminds you that you can do anything you put your heart and mind to and is your biggest cheerleader in the process. How can you not be thankful for a brother like this? I love him from the very bottom of my heart.

The BEST brother in the world!

The BEST brother a girl could ask for!

3. When hard work pays off. We all know this doesn’t always happen. We all know you can have a near perfect training cycle and then not have the race you wanted. So many things can wrong on race day. I’m thankful that last Sunday, at the Long Branch Half Marathon, I had that perfect day. That dream race. That, last Sunday, hard work did indeed pay off with an almost 5 minute PR to boot! I’m definitely thankful for my shiny, new PR that still has me smiling like a fool.

Tell Me.

What are you thankful for today?

3 thoughts on “Thankful Things Thursday: A PR Edition

  1. That picture of you and your brother is so sweet! Love it. I’m thankful for my friends and family…especially my “new” running friends like you!!

Share your thoughts

