Musings from the End of a Training Cycle

That’s right! It’s finally here. IT’S FINALLY RACE WEEK and I’m happy to report that I do not have a fever. Thank goodness. I am feeling great and have big dreams for Sunday’s race. I have worked really hard during this training cycle and have seen some great progress over the past couple of months. No matter what Sunday brings, I know I will have faith and be grateful. Faith in G-d. Faith in myself. Faith in my training. I will trust my training and be grateful for the ability to show up to the starting line as a healthy runner. Sunday, I will run with thoughts of Boston. I will run with thoughts of friends who cannot run at the moment. I will not take this day for granted. I am already grateful for the process and how much stronger I have become and how much I have learned. Sunday I will toe the line in the hopes of running my strongest race yet. I will toe the line being grateful for all that running continues to bring to my life. I will toe the line being grateful for the incredible support I continue to receive each day. My horoscope said it perfectly this week:

Perfect race week horoscope.

Perfect race week horoscope.

I always seem to get sappy at the end of a training cycle. Truth be told, I think after my last training run before the Newport Half Marathon I cried happy tears. I’m feeling extra sappy this week. Shocking, I know! My friends have been incredible. Their support, encouragement and love has been beyond overwhelming. One of my dear friends has been sending me motivational pictures all week. I’m certainly feeling the love.

I continue to feel so blessed by all that running has brought into my life in the past year and a half. Courage, strength, confidence, determination and incredible new friends. If you had asked me a couple of years ago if I would ever sign up to run a marathon I probably would have rolled my eyes, said “Pshh!” and laughed in your face. Yet last week THIS HAPPENED!

I guess I'm running the marathon this year?

I guess I’m running the marathon this year?

I’m terrified and excited all at the same time. I can’t wait for marathon training to begin. Well, that’s a lie. I’m excited for the break in between. Running when I feel like it, and at whatever pace I feel like, will be pretty amazing for a while. But at the end of the day, I truly love that feeling I get when I look fear in the face and go for it anyway.

“You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you stop to look fear in the face.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

Thanks to Nike for this amazing photo!

Thanks to Nike for this amazing photo!

When I started training for my first half marathon last year, I could sort of wrap my head around running 13.1 miles, or in my case, 2+ hours of running. Ask me if I can wrap my head around running 26.2 miles and I’ll look at you like a deer in headlights.

The thought of running from Staten Island to Central Park, and running for almost 5 hours, is something I just CANNOT fathom right now. But I am definitely ready to make some big dreams come true this year. #DreamBig2013

I hope the strength and determination I felt during this training cycle was only the beginning of what I am capable of.

This morning was my last training run. Three super easy, fun miles with Liz and Nicole. I got sort of sappy and cheesy with them yesterday when I told them I was excited to be finishing up our last training run together. And many thanks to both of them for gracing me with their presence at such an early hour. You are good friends! It has been incredible to share this process with them over the past few months. We ran the course from my Inaugural Central Park Turkey Trot 5K back in November when we first met. I thought it was very fitting. It was a perfect morning for a run!

Perfect morning for a run!

Perfect morning for a run, right?

I can’t wait for Sunday and the Long Branch Half Marathon to get here already! No matter what happens, I’m already proud of myself! Thank you a million times over to Abby and Kim for “coaching” me through the past few months. I could not have done this without the two of you. You are such incredible friends. Thank you for believing in me before I could believe in myself!

I’ll leave you with the wise words of Kara Goucher:

Thanks Kara Goucher and Women's Running for this incredible message.

Thanks Kara Goucher and Women’s Running for this incredible message.

Tell Me.

Have you ever gone into a race week feeling prepared, ready and okay with whatever happens on race day?

Do you always go into a race believing in yourself or do you doubt yourself?

Do you feel at peace during race week or do you get a little nuts?

8 thoughts on “Musings from the End of a Training Cycle

  1. I love you, Beth! Love this post so much 🙂 It really made me smile. I will be cheering for you so hard from NH this weekend! I’m tracking you and I know you will tear it up out there. So glad I have gotten to know you over the past few months, you are a wonderful friend and you always inspire me. I hope you have a fun race and I hope I feel like this during my race week. I will probably be a hot mess, though!

    Good luck, girlie!!!

  2. I can’t wait to cheer you on this weekend!! And train with you for NYCM!! This year is bringing big things, my friend!

    As for your questions…I think it just depends on the race. For certain races that I’m just running for fun or for training, I usually go into it without thinking too much. For example, when I ran the Staten Island Half last year, I was at a wedding the night before and really just didn’t care at all. Just wanted to finish. With other big races, like my marathons (obviously) I spent SO much time obsessing over them. I do get a little nuts sometimes, hahah!! 🙂

  3. #DREAMBIG2013. So happy I get to cheer you on to (what should be) an awesome race!! So glad I ran that Turkey Trot last year 🙂

  4. You are SO ready. Go destroy that PR! Enjoy every single mile and know Rocky and I will be cheering for you from my bed! 🙂 Can’t wait to celebrate Monday! ❤

Share your thoughts

