It’s Race Week and I Have a Fever

It’s race week. And I have fever. Well, scratch that! As of 15 minutes ago, I’ve officially been fever free for the past 24 hours. However, before that I had a fever on and off for the past 5 days and the Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run is 4 days from tomorrow. You do the math!

2013CherryBlossom10MileLogo4Email

To say I’m devastated would be an understatement. I’ve trained my ass off for the past 10 weeks and couldn’t have been more hopeful for what was possible at Cherry Blossom. Needless to say, at this point, my goals and big dreams for this race have to be put on hold.

I know I should look at the big picture here. After all, this amazing girl has been far sicker in the past year, than I am currently, and had to give up big dreams for the Eugene Marathon last year. Yet she still always tries to have a positive attitude. This amazing girl had two surgeries in the past year and had to give up her big dreams for the Marine Corps Marathon last year and she, too, still always has a positive attitude. By the way, have you signed up for her Kick Ass (Kick Butt) Virtual 5K Race to benefit Team Challenge and raise money for the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America yet? I did! If you haven’t, GO DO IT NOW! Both of these incredible girls are affected by IBD. Let’s raise some money to help find a cure.

photo credit to Abby

photo credit to Abby

I am trying to have a positive attitude. I typically ALWAYS have a positive attitude. So why do I find it so hard to now? Why did I cry to my super yesterday and to my neighbor today? Let’s be honest. Even if this awful bug, that has knocked me on my ass, was to magically disappear in the next few days, could I physically even run 10 miles after not running for almost 2 weeks? And even if I could, with my next big goal race coming up in 4 weeks, would it even be the smart choice? I polled the Twitters today with a BIG question, “How many days off from running do you think you start to lose your fitness level?” I pretty much already knew the answer. C’mon, it’s science. I’m a pharmacist. I studied science for quite some time. Do you ever ask a question, you sort of already know the answer to, just to see if someone will tell you what you want to hear? Yeah, I think that’s why I did it.

Racing Cherry Blossom is obviously out of the question. In my gut, I know it wouldn’t be wise to even run it. My brain is conflicted. My heart is definitely disappointed.

If I ran a half marathon less than two weeks ago, and I can manage to stay fever free and get in a couple of easy runs before the weekend, do you think I can still run Cherry Blossom? Or should I just call it quits, wave the white flag and take my first DNS?

Tell Me.

Have you ever had to miss a goal race because of illness?

Have you ever run a race shortly after being sick?

5 thoughts on “It’s Race Week and I Have a Fever

  1. Aw Bep…so sorry you aren’t feeling well. Hope you feel better real soon. P.S. You are an amazing girl yourself 😉

  2. I know the feeling. It’s a huge letdown after all the hard work you’ve put into it. Honestly, I would pull out. I’ve had to do it to 2 races before, and it felt disappointing. I remember trying to reason my way into the race, trying to rearrange things, telling myself I could get through it.

    Sure, you’d get through it, but if your goal race is 4 weeks away, I would focus on easing back into running this week with some fun runs later in the week. Work on getting back your foundation, which really isn’t lost. It’s just the sickness took a lot out of your body, so it may take it a week or two (depending on how sick) to bounce back. I caught Flu and Strep in January, took me out a SOLID 3 weeks. Shortly after that, norovirus. Needless to say, it’s been an adjustment on my training schedule and has crossed off a few races that I knew were not wise decisions.

    Focus on your goal race. Baby your body for a few more days, and give it some easy, fun runs. Hydrate, hydrate to replenish anything lost from the fever or other symptoms.

    It’s happened to all of us, so you’re in good company. 🙂 *hugs*

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment. That’s really good advice and I really appreciate it. It is very disappointing and it’s nice to have people that understand how it feels to have to wave the white flag for a race that you’ve been training so hard for. Thank you again! Hope YOU are feeling better, that’s a rough winter you had.

  3. As long as you are feeling fine from now until the race, I would run it! I honestly don’t see why you shouldn’t.

    Can’t wait to hang out this weekend!!! 🙂

  4. I think you should plan on running it, rest up/fuel up as if you’re running it, and then decide when you get to the race whether to go all out or take it easy. It’s hard to know what’s right, so I think you should try!

Share your thoughts

