Musings from the Beginning of a New Year

I love the beginning of a new year. I love January 1st, when it’s totally normal to have these grandiose dreams and life is full of hope and endless possibility for the year ahead. As I sit here, thinking about what I want for myself this year, and in what ways I want to change and grow, I’m overcome with excitement.

This is me, excited for 2013!

This is me, overcome with excitement for 2013!

Here are some of the big dreams I have for myself upon entering the New Year. You can call them resolutions, or goals, but for now I’ll call them dreams.

1. Get stronger again. Back to twice weekly strength workouts. Stronger muscles, stronger runner! No question about that one.

TRX-ing

TRX-ing

2. Get back to my healthy, happy weight. Lighter runner, faster runner? Perhaps. I’ve definitely had some PR’s this year. Either way, time to stop being comfortable with where I am and start working hard to be back where I actually want to be. Time to feel healthier and be the best version of myself. No more denial. No more hiding from it and ignoring it. Time to get to work!

3. PR the crap out of a half marathon. Don’t get me wrong, I was very happy with my 3 minute and 31 second PR in Newport, last October, but let’s just say I think I’ve got a faster half marathon in me!

That one time I did speedwork!

That one time I did speedwork!

4. PR the crap out of the 10 mile distance. Watch out Cherry Blossom 10 Mile, here I come.

2013CherryBlossom10MileLogo4Email

5. Learn how to be comfortable in the uncomfortable. {Insert big life metaphor here} Also known as, learn how to race a 5K! 

6. Find something I’m passionate about professionally and GO AFTER IT!!! 2012 was a professional nightmare and left me feeling unfulfilled and unchallenged. Here’s to changing that in 2013!

7. Fall in love! I know I’m not fully in control of this one, but I have a good feeling about lucky 2013. I also had a dream, two years ago, that I got married in 2013. Crazier things have happened, no?

Happily Ever After

And they lived happily ever after….

source

I haven’t decided on what kind of racing year 2013 will be yet, aside from the Long Branch Half Marathon and Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run. I left those specific dreams off this list for a reason! Although, I have some ideas! Stay tuned…..

Happy New Year Everyone! Here’s to an incredible 2013; full of love, health, happiness, strength and shiny new PR’s! Who’s with me?

#DreamBig2013

Tell Me.

Do you make resolutions at the beginning of a new year? Or do you call them goals? Or dreams?

What exciting things do you want to accomplish in Lucky 2013?

5 thoughts on “Musings from the Beginning of a New Year

  1. Great goals for you! Especially the 5k. When I run a 5k I am truly uncomfortable the entire time. I plan to spend some time working on a PR for that distance during the year as well!

    Whether you call them goals or resolutions, you are still making a commitment to something. It helps to do this because it will be in the front of your mind throughout the year!

  2. #DREAMBIG2013

    You are going to ROCK this year. I have so much faith in you! You look so gorgeous in that Nike New Year’s Eve pic 🙂 Let’s strength train together since I need to use my building’s gym more often and love setting up strength workouts for friends!!

Share your thoughts

