Why I Love Running

Last week, I was all; running failed me, blah, blah, blah. Since then running has quite frankly sucked. My paces have been slow and the effort required to hold those slow paces has been extremely challenging and quite humbling. I felt like an elephant trying to run.

This cartoon is called elephant-panic! Yep!

This cartoon is called elephant-panic! Yep!

source

I’m sure it has nothing, at all, to do with the fact that I have fueled my body more with wine than greens for the past week.

Let me be honest; I had a rough week and wine, well, it helps (don’t judge me, you know it does)! But just like magic, today’s run changed it all. 7 miles of pure bliss and awesomeness, and just like that, my frown has been turned upside down.

That’s what I love about running. Just when you feel like you can’t run another mile, and the world is crashing down on you, and everyone is faster than you (well, let’s face it, everyone is faster than I am), and you will never again run at the paces you once ran at, and why bother trying for one more second, you finally have that one run. That run that, once again, reminds you why you love running. Because for better or worse, at the end of the day, it’s what you will always turn to. Today running did not fail me. Today, running reminded my exactly why I love it so much. It gave me that boost that made me want to push the pace, push my limits, and break down the walls of fear that keep me from being a better, stronger and faster runner. The confidence to believe that I’m capable of whatever I put my mind to and nothing is impossible. A friendly reminder that, with hard work and determination, the sky is the limit. Today’s run is exactly what I love most about running. Just when you are down on yourself, and moments away from giving up on yourself, your body reminds you that if you believe you can do it; well, then you can do it!

ALWAYS Believe in Yourself

ALWAYS Believe in Yourself

Today, I planned on 5 or 6 miles. Why is it that I never really hit my stride until after mile 3? Perhaps 5K’s aren’t my thing? After all, my favorite part of half marathon training is the long run. Anyway, I digress. After about 4 miles, 4.44 to be exact, the magic happened. I ran into Ali and we chatted for a few minutes; complaining about the lack of snow. We ran off on our own again and, just like that, the snow started coming down. HUGE SNOW FLAKES IN CENTRAL PARK=VERY HAPPY RUNNER! I don’t know if it was the snow, or some speedy good luck vibes from my speedy friend, but my little plan of 5 miles went right out the window and somehow transformed into a 7 mile, snowy, faster, awesome run. This run was just what I needed after the past week and a half, and just the confidence boost I’ve been thirsting for to kick 2012 to the curb and welcome 2013 with open arms.

Nike2013MakeItCount

Thanks to Nike for this sweet little picture!

Nope, 2013 DOESN’T stand a chance. I know I’m ready to DREAM BIG in 2013! Who’s with me?

Final Note: 3 more miles and I’ll hit 750 miles for 2012! I think I ran like 250 last year. You know where you’ll find ME tomorrow!

5 thoughts on “Why I Love Running

  1. Completely agree that it can be hard to hit your stride in the first few miles. People never believe me when I say the first five miles of a marathon are the hardest for me, but it’s TRUE!

    Also, love that Nike pic – where do I get one???

  2. I don’t really get into a run until about 2.5 miles in, so its not just you! Glad you love running again 🙂 It certainly is a love-hate relationship.

    Your NYE plans seemed amazing ,definitely thinking of doing something like that next year!

Share your thoughts

