Thankful Things Thursday: First Edition

I know it’s Friday. Sorry this post is a day late! I had all intentions of posting it last night but some champagne, and a dance party with Kristine, won over finishing and posting it. Sometimes a girl just needs a dance party!

Thanks for the reminder, Yogi Tea!

Thanks for the reminder, Yogi Tea!

This is the first time I’ve written a Thankful Things Thursday post. I know many people write one each week, and for THEM I am thankful. No matter what is going on during any given week, their posts remind me to take a minute and think about all that I have to be thankful for.

I attempted to incorporate this into my last post, but it became apparent to me that it was far too long and deserved its own post. I’m not sure if it’s because Thanksgiving was last week or because the end of 2012 is coming near, but I have been feeling all sorts of thankful these days.

I’m thankful for my family. I’m thankful for my 92 and 1/2 year old grandmother AND my 84 and 1/2 year old grandmother. I think it’s an incredible blessing to still have them both in my life.

I’m thankful for my father, who continues to lead by example. A man who has taught me that it’s not always what you say in life, but how you say it! Something I need to continually remind myself of. A man who has shown me that you can teach the proverbial “old dog” new tricks; that you’re never too old to learn, change or grow. He will never know what his happiness means to me.

I’m especially thankful for my brother, who has become my best friend in life. My little brother, who is so much more my “big brother” in every aspect, except age. We grew up, as most siblings close in age do, beating each other up and constantly fighting. I was always told, as I pounded on my baby brother, “he’s going to grow up, get big and strong and get you back.” And that he most certainly did! But as adults, we are as close as two siblings can be. We support each other through everything. Even when he doesn’t get me, and quotes the Progresso Soup commercial, asking if there is a woman I can speak to, he still does his best to listen. I couldn’t ask for a better brother!

I’m thankful for friends, old and new. I’m not sure where I even begin with this one. I apologize, in advance, for the sappy words that are about to follow, but I only speak what’s in my heart.

I’m thankful for the friends who have been by my side for most of my life. Who have seen the good, the bad and the, sometimes, very ugly and love me anyway. They will never know what their encouragement, support and seemingly, endless supply of love mean to me. I hope I tell them enough. Sometimes I can’t find the right words to describe what they mean to me and how much they make my life better.

I absolutely LOVE these people!

I absolutely LOVE these people!

I have spent a lot of time with new friends lately. Friends I am extremely thankful for. Friends that may have come into my life through work or social media, but have become real friends somewhere along the way.

I’m thankful for friends who lift you up, who support you and who are there cheering for you in the final mile, giving you the extra push to succeed. Friends who believe in you, sometimes even before you believe in yourself.

I’m thankful for friends who inspire me to be a better runner, person and friend.

I’m thankful for the overwhelming thoughtfulness of friends. A bracelet, a t-shirt, an email, a comment or a blog post that warms my heart and brings me to tears. When I least expect it, you brighten my day.

I’m thankful for friends that will have a champagne fueled dance party with you, at midnight on a Thursday, to a CD mix from 2004 (Don’t judge, you know you have one). The PERFECT cure for a bad day!

I’m thankful for running. Obviously! I’m thankful for all that running has brought into my life this year. Inspiration. Determination. Dedication. Courage. Strength. Perseverance. Most importantly, learning to Believe in Yourself. And as I’ve just gushed about written above, incredible new friends. Running has changed my life this year. I never realized how important it is to have goals. Setting goals, and working hard to achieve them, has changed my life for the absolute better.

Believe in Yourself

Believe in Yourself

I’m thankful to have become part of such an amazing, and inspiring, running community this year. Last year, I was running alone.  Although I do still prefer a good solo run sometimes, it’s pretty awesome to have running buddies for those times when you just don’t want to.

My 1st Running Buddy

MeKristineBibsRaceExpo

New Running Buddies

From left to right: Kristine, Me, Ali, Erica

It may sound cliché, but I’m ALWAYS thankful that I have the ability to run when so many others cannot.

I’m thankful for new traditions. Look, change is hard. Or as my dad says, change isn’t hard; it’s the management of change that’s hard. I’m thankful that I started a new tradition last week and created my very own Central Park 5k Turkey Trot. I’m thankful to have had some pretty incredible people to share this new tradition with.

Central Park Turkey Trot Finishers

Inaugural Central Park Turkey Trot Finishers

From left to right: Shannon, Me, Ashley, Liz, Jen and Nicole

I’m thankful for many things. Big AND small.

I’m thankful that, in my constant battle with the West Side rolling hills in Central Park, I won today! I’m also thankful for that sweet downhill that comes at the end and continues to boost my running ego with the flash of the ever elusive 8 in the front of my pace (What? I said I was thankful for things big AND small. Let’s lighten up this overly sappy post a little).

BelieveInYourself

I’m thankful that at the top of every uphill there is usually a downhill. A great metaphor for life!

I’m thankful for Central Park. I’ve laughed there. I’ve cried there. I’ve raced there. I’ve thought there. I’ve trained there. I’ve written there. And I’ve stopped many times to just admire all of its beauty.  And perhaps take a few pictures.

Fall in Central Park

Fall in Central Park

MoreEastSideCentralParkFall

More Fall in Central Park

Yes, this is real!

Yes, this is real!

I’m thankful the 102nd Street Transverse is finally open. I’m over you Harlem Hill.

I’m thankful for this post. This girl is as real and honest as it gets and that’s probably why it’s the first blog I ever started reading and still read religiously. Because honesty is still ALWAYS the best policy!

I’m thankful it’s the holiday season. I’m thankful I can listen to Christmas music 24 hours a day for the next month and it’s acceptable. I’m extremely thankful for the beauty of New York City during this time of year. And although it feels VERY crowded, it always feels magical.

57th Street Snowflake

57th Street Snowflake

Lastly, I’m thankful that, even though there are times it’s hard not to think about what I’ve lost, I wake up EVERY MORNING with SO MUCH to be thankful for.

Tell Me.

Tell me something you are thankful for. Or go crazy and tell me two things!

Are you excited it’s the holiday season?

Do you love Christmas music?

4 thoughts on “Thankful Things Thursday: First Edition

  1. I LOVE Christmas music and I am so excited that I can indulge my love of glittery/sparkly things under cover of it being the holiday season.

    I am thankful for my health! I am feeling stronger than ever these days and love that I can keep pushing myself to see what I’m capable of.

  2. You are probably the nicest, kindest, happiest person in the world. I’m so glad you started blogging and it makes me happy whenever I see your big smile cruising through Central Park. Thanks for making my day 😉

Share your thoughts

