What a Week

A week of feeling honored. I felt honored to be the Featured Chobaniac on the Chobani blog last week.

Photo Credit to Chobani

A week of feeling inspired. Watching the Philadelphia Marathon last Sunday, seeing friends dream big and reach their goals, I couldn’t help but feel inspired. Truth be told, I almost signed up for my first marathon while spectating the race. Cheering alongside some incredible marathoners did nothing but fuel my fire. Kara even told me she was researching for me. I’M SCARED! I believe in myself and KNOW with dedication, sacrifice and A LOT of hard work, I can do it. I can train for a marathon. But it is SCARY, nonetheless!

Ashley, Kristin, and Stephanie ALL PR’d.

Nadia ran her first marathon and went sub-4. Did I mention it was her FIRST RACE EVER?

Oh, and Abby? Abby qualified for Boston, at her VERY FIRST MARATHON! Although I wasn’t at all surprised she did it, I found myself very emotional when I saw her just before she crossed the finish line, looking STRONG, determined and focused, even after 26 miles. She maintained a pace I can only DREAM of. She inspires me EVERY DAY!

Although I don’t know Jocelyn very well, in real life, I continue to feel inspired by the STRONG runner she has become this year. I remember when she ran the NYC Half and forgot her watch and wasn’t sure she hit her goal of sub-2 until she received a call from her coach. She CRUSHED that goal two weeks ago with a 1:45 at the Weston Half Marathon. She ran an incredible race in Chicago last month and missed her goal by just a couple of minutes. A mere MONTH later she achieved her goal of sub-4. I’m not talking by a few seconds; I am talking by TEN MINUTES! That’s right; she KILLED it at the Philly Marathon and crossed the finish line in 3:50. How can you not feel inspired by that?

Let’s not forget about Ali. She continues to amaze and inspire me every day. Ali ran the Gobbler Grind Half Marathon last Sunday. As a training run for the upcoming Dallas Marathon. She, too, crushed her goal of 1:45, crossing the finish line in 1:41, and winning FIRST in her age group, with a 7:42 average pace. Yet another pace I can only dream of. She’s also a displaced NYC Marathoner who will, no doubt, achieve her goal next month. Oh yeah, AND she WON her local turkey trot on Thursday. Talk about inspiring!

A week of feeling thankful. Thanksgiving is a holiday to reflect on all you are thankful for. This is likely going to be a LONG and sappy post, as I’m feeling extremely thankful these days! Separate post to follow! For now, I’ll leave you with a little preview…..

This week I was accepted as a FitFluential Ambassador. I could not be happier or more excited for the opportunity to join the FitFluential Family.

And I started my very own Turkey Trot in Central Park.

Inaugural Central Park Turkey Trot

I hope everyone had a Happy Thanksgiving and spent time with family and friends!

Tell Me.

Tell me something you’re thankful for.

Did you run a Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving?

Did anything inspire you this week?

Did you race this week?

18 thoughts on “What a Week

  1. What a great week! That’s awesome that you started your own Turkey Trot. What are your medals? Congrats on being accepted as a FitFluential Ambassador. It’s a great group of people. And all of those stories are so motivational! I’m training for my first marathon and can’t wait to see what I can do! I can’t believe all the sub 4s and BQs that happened in people’s first marathons! That’s crazy! And you can totally do marathon training. It seems daunting, but once you get into it you just take it one day at a time and it’s totally doable.

    • You’ll see the medals in the recap post 🙂 Couldn’t fit it all in this one! Good luck training for your first marathon! Which one are you training for? Thanks for the advice and your kind words.

  2. Congrats on a great week! Glad your turkey trot went well. I ran my 8th Manchester road race in MY hometown. It’s my dream race running through where I grew up!!! Thanks again for cheering couldn’t have done it without you!!!

  3. Congrats on becoming a FitFluential Ambassador! What a great week!! I had so much fun being part of your Turkey Trot. Hope to see you next weekend at Raise the Voices!!

  4. Congrats Ms. Ambassador! Well deserved. You’re amazing for starting your own TT this year! And if (when) you sign up for that marathon I can’t wait to be cheering you on, glitter, neon, cowbells & all! I’m thankful for positive people like you in this world…and that I survived my turkey trot! 🙂

  5. I’m thankful that I had so many friends and family members cheering me on in my first marathon! Honestly, couldn’t have done it without you all! Or if I had, it at least wouldn’t have been as much fun! 🙂 And I’m thankful that we got to hang out yesterday!!! And I’m thankful that you brought me chocolate chip cookies because I could go for one (the last one) right now… 🙂

  6. I love the inspiration you take from other runners. It’s what makes the running community so special — it’s an individual pursuit but yet it’s so supportive and community-oriented! I am so thankful for friends, old and new 🙂

  7. Wow, you did have a great week! Congrats on all of it 🙂 I was so, so happy to see you cheering in Philly! It was the best way to start off my race and I as thankful that you were there. Thanksgiving was great, and I definitely am sad I missed the Turkey Trot, but seriously, lets run together soon!!!

  8. I ran my first Turkey Trot this year… It was awesome and totally something I’d like to keep as a new tradition going forward 🙂

    I ran my first half-marathon in November. So far, I run mostly on my own. So I feel like I need to find some good groups to join… It’s kind of inspiring to read your updates and how you showcase different people’s achievements. I think I need that sort of community moving forward.

    I have two trail runs coming up in December. If I’m thankful for anything, it’s that I’ve been running injury free for the last several months and I’ve been enjoying every minute of it. Im’ thankful that I’ve discovered how much running is influencing me and making me a better person!

  9. You are so sweet to mention (in detail) all the runners you have been supporting and inspired by! I’m sure they all appreciate it and share the kind words right back at you! Keep supporting, inspiring and running 🙂

  10. I’m thankful to live in this awesome city, in an apartment I love, with a job that challenges me every day. Thanks for motivating me to get out of bed early on Thanksgiving to run with you – I definitely would NOT have run that day had it not been for you!

  11. Thank you so much Beth!! And we need to hang out soon – this “not knowing each other well” thing has to change!! Also – you are the inspirational one – you have such a wonderful attitude about everything. It is amazing. Never lose it!

Share your thoughts

