Believe in Yourself

Today was my last long run before the Newport Half Marathon. It’s no secret that my training did not start off on the right foot. I had a rough few weeks trying to get back into the groove of training again. Add in starting a new full-time job, after not working for a while, and a near perfect first training cycle back in March. You can imagine the pressure I felt.

Fast forward almost 11 weeks later. My last two long runs were probably my BEST runs in 11 weeks. Strong, determined, confident and believing in myself. Let me tell you my friends, BELIEVE IN YOURSELF. It’s so amazingly powerful. It makes all the difference, in whatever you do. If your mind and your heart believe you can do it, your body will sense that. I know I’ve said it before, but if you believe in yourself, your body will follow. I started this run STRONG. I ran up Cat Hill and felt like I was floating up the hill. I gave myself a mental pep talk. I prayed and chatted with G-d. And then I said, OUT LOUD, in the middle of Central Park, I GOT THIS! The powers of positive thinking, having faith and believing in yourself are incredible.

Last night I decided to test a theory. I had a glass of champagne and some candy
corn. Do you remember when I gushed about blogged about last week’s 12 mile long run? I pondered whether champagne and candy corn were the keys to my success. So, I had a glass (or maybe two) last night and some candy corn for dessert and today I ran another near perfect long run? Coincidence? Maybe. Maybe they truly ARE the keys to my success? Maybe. Maybe it was just because I believed in myself and didn’t obsess over my runs for the past two weeks? Perhaps. I suppose I’ll really never know. But I think I should bring some candy corn to Newport, you know, just in case.

I don’t usually have pace goals for my runs. I’m still kind of in the category of trying my best, pushing myself and running happy. With that being said, I would love to be able to run the half next Sunday somewhere between a 10:30-10:45 pace/mile. There. I said it. It’s scary and I don’t often talk about goals other than finishing, but I said it.

My loose goal for today’s 8 mile run was a 10:30 average pace/mile. I finished with a 10:21 average pace/mile, the last 2 miles at a sub-10 pace/mile, and feeling like there was MUCH more energy left in the tank.

I’m proud of this run!

I’m no expert, but I suppose this is EXACTLY how you want to feel the week before a half marathon. I felt STRONG. I felt especially strong on the hills, ALL of them. I haven’t felt strong on the West Side rolling hills of Central Park in quite some time. If I’m being 100% truthful, they have gotten the best of me for more runs than not during this training cycle. Not a good feeling. Today, I dominated them! I could NOT have been happier with the way my last two long runs have gone.

I BELIEVE IN MYSELF and I can’t wait until next weekend to see what I’m made of for 13.1 miles again!

ONE WEEK FROM TOMORROW!!!

Tell Me.

Do you give yourself a pep talk before or during your runs?

Do you ever struggle with believing in yourself?

Do you have a secret to your most successful runs?

How was YOUR long run this weekend?

One thought on “Believe in Yourself

  1. Pingback: Why I Love Running | Once in a Mile

Share your thoughts

