Goals for My Favorite Month of the Year

October is, by far, my favorite month of the year. Is it because my birthday is tomorrow in October? Perhaps. Mainly, I think it’s because it is truly the beginning of Fall, which is my absolute favorite season of the year. Leaves changing colors. Crispy morning runs. Sweaters. Scarves. Boots. Honeycrisp apples. Thanksgiving. Need I say more?

I love Central Park in early Fall.

I’ve been inspired! I read two blog posts over the weekend that made me realize I’m capable of more. I’m capable of whatever I put my mind to. And that’s more. As I sit here, on the eve of my birthday, I realize that I want more! I want to get back to my healthy weight. I want to be a faster runner. I want to fall in love. All of these things require goals, right? So, here goes. Some goals for October. I figure if I put them out there, you can all help keep me accountable, right? All 5 of you!

October Goals:

1. Lose 1 pound per week. I’ve made excuses and put this off and haven’t tried hard enough for FAR too long now. I’ve lost focus. I haven’t tried hard enough. I’ve been too hard on myself. I haven’t been hard ENOUGH on myself. I’m guilty of being all or nothing. This stops now. I CAN DO THIS!

2. Strength train. 1-2 times a week again. I’ve definitely been slacking in this department since I’ve started working full-time again. Stronger muscles=stronger runner! Not to mention, I’m POSITIVE this will help with #1.

3. Date! I know this one is not completely in my control, but I can most definitely try harder to be more social.

4. #Plankaday. I NEED to jump back on this bandwagon. I was a major plankaday slacker for the month of September. I will try harder in October. After a month off from plankaday, is a 3:00 plank too zealous of a goal?

5. Stay outside my comfort zone. This has been a great year, so far, for going outside my comfort zone. I want to continue to do things that scare me. My goal is to do AT LEAST one new thing this month that scares me. Outside your comfort zone is where the magic happens, right?

I’ll check back with everyone in a few weeks and let you know how I’ve done.

Tell Me.

Do you ever feel you are capable of more?

How do you handle it when you feel like you aren’t being the best you can be?

Has anyone else ever struggled to get back to a healthy weight? HELP! What are your secrets? I could use all the help can get!

3 thoughts on “Goals for My Favorite Month of the Year

  1. I love October too! Obviously because of your birthday, but also because there’s that perfect slight chill in the air that makes you want to curl up on a park bench with hot apple sider and a pumpkin muffin, yumm…

    All your goals are perfect — quantifiable and practical! You can definitely achieve all those goals and then some. If you feel like you need help with any of them let me know, I want you to achieve your goals! Especially the strength training part because I need to do that too haha

    I honestly always feel like I’m capable of more — I push hard and work hard, but at the end of the day we’re ALL capable of more. That’s what makes us special :-)…or in my case, prone to injury…One place I do wish I pushed myself harder was finding my passion and turning it into a career, that’s kind of my weak point. I do push myself at work to do my best, but I’m pushing myself to be great at something I don’t have a passion for.

    Most people don’t believe me when I say this, but I was overweight and I have struggled many times to get back to a healthy weight. I’ve tried every tactic under the sun (counting calories, not eating, throwing up food, cutting out sugars, the list goes on) and finally found what worked for me. It started with simply loving myself, developing a passion for good quality foods and everything in moderation, but not excluding ANYTHING. Oh and never regretting a meal. That’s a big one. Would love to discuss with you sometime as I feel like we’ve probably been through similar journeys.

    You’ve now inspired me to create my own October goals, although I’m not quite sure what they are…

  2. Omg I absolutely love this and Am on boars with this plan!!, happy birthday to you!!!!!!!! I hope tonight and tomorrow are wonderful and I love you!

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Thanks for the shout! You have accomplished some great things this year and are about to complete another next weekend at your half! Everytime you train and push yourself to your potential its a great accomplishment 🙂

    I LOVE you goals, they are totally realistic and reasonable. I need to actually make some specific goals like that I think it will help me stay on track this coming year. I think when you feel like you are capable of more it helps to just try it! Or try something new. If you don’t succeed, thats okay but at least you gave it your all. Part of that is just putting aside all your fears and just going for it!!

Share your thoughts

