All in a Year

One year ago today, I ran the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. A 5K that would forever change my life.

One of my besties! So grateful for her never ending love and support. Love this girl!

Six months ago, today, I ran the NYC Half Marathon, my first half marathon.

My proudest moment in YEARS! The BEST cheerleaders/family/friends a girl could ask for. Don’t know what I’d do with them and their never ending encouragement, support and love.

As I sit here, reflecting over the past year, I can’t help but feel excited for the Newport Half Marathon (26 days away) and for all that is possible in the year to come. The number 18 has a lot of meaning in my life. In Hebrew, 18=chai, which means life. It’s a very meaningful number. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that two major milestones have occurred on the 18th. I’d like to think there is more meaning there. Coincidentally, 26 is also a meaningful number in my life. It’s the number of the house I grew up in and I find it equally meaningful that on this day, the 18th, and my one year anniversary of racing, that the Newport Half is exactly 26 days away. Hmm, funny, that’s how many miles there are in a marathon too, right?

I often find myself reflecting around this time of year. Tonight at sundown marks the end of Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year. It is the perfect time of year to start anew. To begin a new year, perhaps a new attitude, maybe a chance to see what made you happy this past year and maybe what needs to be reevaluated. This time of year also marks another year older for me. In just two short weeks, I will also celebrate my birthday. Another year older? Yes. Another year wiser? I’d like to think so. Another year faster? Here’s hoping!

I think it’s the combination of the Jewish High Holidays and my birthday that cause me to be reflective during this time of year. So, how did this year go? This year has brought so many incredible things to my life; courage, strength, determination and incredible new friends. I have grown stronger by looking fear right in the face and triumphing over it, rather than living in its shadows, as I used to do. I have grown stronger by pushing WAY outside my comfort zone, many times, this year.

You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. -Eleanor Roosevelt

To some this may appear to be no big deal, but I’ve gone from “hiding” in the back of the class at Flywheel to riding front and center in the FRONT ROW. A year ago I didn’t even like spinning and now I find myself eagerly awaiting 5pm on Sundays when the booking window opens and I can choose my rides for the week. I’ve run with faster people, even though it felt like the scariest thing in the moment. I’ve tried different classes, even if I didn’t think I could do it. I’ve signed up for races that I feared and somehow found the courage to show up to the starting line believing in myself. I have grown stronger by letting go of toxic relationships, even though it may have caused me sadness at the time.

I decided early on this year that if anything scared me, I would go for it! To be honest, it is an incredibly freeing feeling when you fear you can’t do something, or feel you’re not strong enough, or fast enough, or good enough and you go for it anyway and find yourself succeeding.

Promise me you’ll always remember: You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. -A.A. Milne

I’m incredibly excited for what’s possible in the year to come!

Tell Me.

Do you do things that scare you?

Do you reflect before New Years or your birthday or another time of year?

Did you celebrate Rosh Hashanah? Did you get a day off from work because of the holiday?

Hope all those that celebrated Rosh Hashanah had a happy, healthy and sweet New Year!

2 thoughts on “All in a Year

  1. I definitely make a point to do things that scare me, I’ve made it somewhat of a “rule” — if I realize I’m not doing something because I’m scared (and it’s not dangerous; I refuse to ski down “scary” mountains, but it’s bc I value my life and my legs), I do it. I’ve found once you do something you’re scared of, you find it’s not really scary at all!

    I reflect a lot… and then I stop reflecting because I get tired of thinking too much and decide I just need to live in the moment…. I don’t normally celebrate Rosh Hashanah, but I am in need of a New Year so I’ll take it! Happy New Year!

    I’m glad you’re realizing that you CAN DO ANYTHING, because you can 🙂

  2. I wish I had known you in March so we could have run the NYC Half together.. it was my first half too and such an amazing experience!

    I try to do things that scare me, running this relay this year is certainly one of them! But there’s definitely other areas I could stand to be a little bit more daring in.. like being more spontaneous! Running my first half was scary but now it doesn’t seem so daunting anymore since I’ve done it 🙂 Just gotta get over that hump.

    PS. You ROCK for sitting front row.. I’m still working on getting the nerve to do that!

Share your thoughts

