Do You Run With Purpose?

I will admit, I don’t always run with purpose. Sometimes I go out there and don’t think at all while I run. Sometimes I find that I just zone out. Sometimes I finish a run and have no idea where my mind was.

Today I ran with purpose. Today I ran and thought about all that I am grateful for and why I was running. I need to do that more often.

I run because it makes me feel like the best version of myself. I run because it’s the best way to start my day. I run because it makes me feel like I am capable of anything. I run because it makes me feel strong (well, sometimes). I run because it makes me feel free. I run because for 30 minutes, or an hour, or 2 hours, I can escape from the world and just think, or not think, it’s totally up to me. I run because it makes me feel closer to G-d and when I think he best hears my prayers. I run because I can’t imagine not running.

I had a rough night last night. A very good friend listened to me cry and told me to sit down and think and make a list of all I was grateful for. Don’t get me wrong, I DO have so much to be grateful for. Last night I forgot just how much. I allowed an imperfect situation and negative thoughts to creep in and cloud my vision of all the blessings in my life. This morning’s run helped to remind me of all that I am grateful for and left me feeling rejuvenated. I felt like I could take on the day.

Last night Abby told me to “think healing thoughts for all of my injured friends while I was out there killing it.” I dedicated part of today’s run to Abby and those friends. It was part of what I was grateful for this morning. I was grateful that I am not injured. I have been injured before. It is frustrating. It prevents you from doing what you love. It prevents you from doing what makes you feel like you.

I was grateful that today’s run felt STRONG. I felt like I floated up Cat Hill. I felt like I could hold a sub-10 min mile pace with relative ease today. Well maybe not ease, but I was able to hold a sub-10 min/mile pace for all four miles, something I have barely been able to do all summer. I could not have asked for a better start to this day. I knew that whatever today brought, I was grateful that I started the day feeling strong and like I had accomplished something. I started the day feeling proud of myself for getting out there and doing something for me.

Tell Me.

Do you run with purpose?

What do you think about when you run? Do you just zone out?

Why do you run?

4 thoughts on “Do You Run With Purpose?

  1. I think I’ve had every type of run imaginable! The ones where I zone out, ones where I work out emotions, ones where I’m focused on surviving my training pace, and ones that just make me happy… 🙂 That’s the beauty of running, isn’t it? It’s whatever we need it to be, and it’s always there as long as we’re in good health.

  2. Love this post!

    I run because I always told myself I couldn’t, that it wasn’t “me.” I run because I never played sports in high school and never experienced what it feels like to get stronger and stronger, to be competitive. I run because I’m often stressed, angry, and worried, and at the end of a run I’m a lot less stressed, angry, and worried.

    But, despite all those reasons, there have been several runs this summer when I was constantly looking at my GPS to see when the mile would be over (I’m sure the horrible heat has something to do with that). It’s cheesy but I have to remind myself “run the mile you’re in” — when I’m in mile 1, TRY not to think that I have X more to go. Observe mile 1, when mile 2 hits, observe mile 2.

    • I love this comment! This summer has been rough, mentally and physically. You are definitely not alone. Even after the summer is over, there are still going to be runs that you just want to end, but so many more when you feel like you could just run forever. I like your approach to running the mile you are in. That was the mentality that got me through my first 12 mile run. Sometimes it’s easier than others. Breaking a long run down into parts often helps me as well.

Share your thoughts

